CCUL Headlines: Headlines

CUNA Awards honors two credit unions from the Carolinas at the GAC; Awards portal opens for 2019

Tuesday, March 26, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

Left: CUNA President & CEO Jim Nussle with Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union board members and staff. Right: CUNA President & CEO Jim Nussle with Piedmont Advantage Credit Union President & CEO Judy Tharp.

The passion and spirit of the credit union industry was evident at CUNA’s awards ceremony on March 13 at the 2019 CUNA GAC which recognized the 2018 Maxwell, Herring, and Desjardins national award winners. In attendance were two credit union honorees from the Carolinas: Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union, who won honorable mention in its asset category for Desjardin Youth Financial Education Award; and Piedmont Advantage Credit Union, who won second place in its asset category for the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award.

Credit unions first participate in the CUNA Awards by submitting their entries through the Carolinas Credit Union Foundation. Award categories include the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award, and the Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards. Winners from the state-level program are then honored at the Carolinas Foundation’s Awards Gala at the League’s LAUNCH conference, after which state-level first-place winners go on to compete in the national competition.

Call For 2019 CUNA Awards Submissions

The CUNA Awards portal is now open for 2019 submissions for credit unions in the Carolinas. Entries are due by June 30, 2019.

Go to Awards Portal

About the CUNA Awards

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award is given to a credit union or chapter/multiple credit union group for its social responsibility projects within the community. The award is given for external activities that help other people or strengthen the structure of a community. Examples include raising funds for charity, educational activities, or community involvement projects, such as a volunteer fair, building low-income housing, or loaning employees a few hours a week to work in hospitals, retirement homes, schools, and the like.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award is given to a credit union for practical application of credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union. It is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership, including programs or policies that demonstrate their commitment to the practical application of the "People-Helping-People" philosophy. Practical examples include: provisions for the small saver or borrower; member programs for groups that are often economically challenged; internal programs or services that help to differentiate the credit union from other financial services' providers; programs that do an extraordinary job of encouraging thrift and provide a source of unbiased money management and consumer information, especially if difficult or impossible to obtain elsewhere; and evidence of an exceptional degree of service to members.

The Desjardins Financial Education Awards recognize leadership within credit unions on behalf of financial literacy for all ages. The awards consider all activities supporting personal finance education of members and non-members, including face-to-face teaching using proprietary materials and curricula, such as the NEFE High School Financial Planning Program® (HSFPP), and financial literacy leadership.


Related News:

LAUNCH 2019, Foundation Awards Gala inspire, re-energize

Honorees and entertainment announced for Carolinas CU Foundation Awards Gala

Contact Us


323 West Jones Street
Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27603

800-822-8859 Phone
919-573-0474 Fax


508 Hampton Street
Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201

800-822-8859 Phone
803-732-4268 Fax

More about our locations