CCUL Headlines: Headlines

Carolinas Foundation: Online portal now open for 2018 state-level CUNA Awards entries

Tuesday, March 6, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |


Credit unions may submit state-level CUNA Awards entries online through Saturday, June 30.


View the 2017 Carolinas CU Foundation
Awards Gala Program

The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation (CCUF) invites credit unions across the Carolinas to prepare and submit entries for state-level judging in the annual CUNA Awards programs, which include the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award, and the Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards.

Credit unions may submit entries online through the CCUF/CUNA Awards portal (see “Submission Links”). The deadline for all entries is Saturday, June 30, 2018.

“Credit unions in the Carolinas know firsthand about giving back to their communities – a spirit that is evident each year in this awards program,” said Foundation President Lauren Whaley. “The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation is honored to provide them an opportunity to raise awareness among their peers of the programs and activities unique to our industry.”

First-place winners from the state-level program will be forwarded for national judging through the Credit Union National Association (CUNA). The award ceremony for state-level winners will take place during the Carolinas Credit Union League’s 2019 Carolinas Credit Union Connect. Then national winners will be honored at the CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference March 10-13, 2019 in Washington, DC.

Please direct any questions about these state-level awards programs to Lauren Whaley at or 919-600-8219.

About the CUNA Awards

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award is given to a credit union or chapter/multiple credit union group for its social responsibility projects within the community. The award is given for external activities that help other people or strengthen the structure of a community. Examples include raising funds for charity, educational activities, or community involvement projects, such as a volunteer fair, building low-income housing, or loaning employees a few hours a week to work in hospitals, retirement homes, schools, and the like.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award is given to a credit union for practical application of credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union. It is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership, including programs or policies that demonstrate their commitment to the practical application of the "People-Helping-People" philosophy. Practical examples include: provisions for the small saver or borrower; member programs for groups that are often economically challenged; internal programs or services that help to differentiate the credit union from other financial services' providers; programs that do an extraordinary job of encouraging thrift and provide a source of unbiased money management and consumer information, especially if difficult or impossible to obtain elsewhere; and evidence of an exceptional degree of service to members.

The Desjardins Financial Education Awards recognize leadership within credit unions on behalf of financial literacy for all ages. The awards consider all activities supporting personal finance education of members and non-members, including face-to-face teaching using proprietary materials and curricula, such as the NEFE High School Financial Planning Program® (HSFPP), and financial literacy leadership.


Related News

Foundation's sold-out gala honors champions in the Carolinas (2/15/18)

Carolinas Foundation announces 2017 state-level CUNA award winners (9/19/17)

Contact Us


323 West Jones Street
Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27603

800-822-8859 Phone
919-573-0474 Fax


508 Hampton Street
Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201

800-822-8859 Phone
803-732-4268 Fax

More about our locations