CCUL Headlines: Headlines

Carolinas Foundation announces 2017 state-level CUNA award winners

Tuesday, September 19, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

View List of 2017 Winners

Each year the Awards Committee of the Carolinas Credit Union Foundation has the difficult task of selecting state-level winners for CUNA’s National Awards Competition. These awards are designed to encourage and recognize distinguished credit unions which demonstrate social responsibility (the Dora Maxwell Award), the credit union philosophy (the Louise Herring Award), and financial education (the Desjardins Awards).

“The Foundation is proud to recognize all of the 2017 winners for their amazing initiatives that enhance financial literacy, increase social responsibility, and demonstrate the practical application of the “people helping people” credit union philosophy,” noted Lauren Whaley, Foundation president. “We had a tough selection process this year, with 23 outstanding applications. The Foundation Board joins me in congratulating all of those recognized in the 2017 competition. Our hope is that the several of the first-place winners from the Carolinas will be selected as top contenders in the national competition hosted by CUNA.”

CUNA will make their national-level selections in October with recognition slated for a reception held in conjunction with 2018 CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference.

Save the Date - Foundation’s Awards Gala - February 1, 2018

The League and Foundation will jointly recognize all of the 2017 winners at an awards dinner held in conjunction with the annual Carolinas Credit Union Connect expo. The Awards Gala will be held on February 1, 2018 in Charlotte, NC.



About the CUNA Awards


Who was Alphonse Desjardins?

Alphonse Desjardins was a credit union pioneer who was instrumental in forming the Canadian and U.S. credit union movements.  Besides helping to found the first credit unions in Canada and the U.S., Desjardins pioneered youth savings clubs and in-school "banks," known as caisses scolaires.            

The Desjardins award recognizes leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of financial literacy for all ages. The Desjardins Youth Award includes all activities to teach personal finance to youth (under 18) and the Adult Award includes all activates to teach personal finance to adults (over 18).


Who was Dora Maxwell?

Dora Maxwell was an early credit union pioneer, and was one of the original signers of CUNA's constitutions at Estes Park in Colorado. She worked as an organizer for the movement's trade association and held numerous volunteer positions at the local and national level.  In addition to organizing hundreds of credit unions, she developed volunteer organizer clubs and worked with organizations on behalf of the poor.

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award is given to a credit union or chapter/multiple credit union group for its social responsibility projects within the community. Credit unions could receive the award for involvement in almost any kind of activity that helps other people or strengthens the structure of a community.  


Who was Louise Herring?

Louise Herring was an active supporter, organizer, and champion of credit unions. She was the Ohio delegate to the 1934 national credit union conference in Estes Park, CO where she signed the original constitution for a national credit union association. Louise believed that credit unions should work in a practical manner to better people's lives. She saw the credit union as more than just a financial institution. In her own words, "the purpose of the credit union is to reform the financial system, so that everyone can have his place in the sun."

The Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award is given to a credit union for its practical application of credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union.  It is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership.



Carolinas Foundation presents 2016 state-level CUNA award winners

Contact Us


323 West Jones Street
Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27603

800-822-8859 Phone
919-573-0474 Fax


PO Box 1787
Columbia, SC 29202

800-822-8859 Phone
803-732-4268 Fax