CCUL Headlines: Headlines

Carolinas Foundation: Enter state-level CUNA Awards program now through June 30

Thursday, April 20, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |


Credit unions may submit state-level CUNA Awards entries online through Friday, June 30.

The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation (CCUF) invites credit unions across the Carolinas to prepare and submit entries for state-level judging in the annual CUNA Awards programs, which include the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award, and the Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Awards.

Credit unions may submit entries online through the CCUF/CUNA Awards portal (see “Submission Links”). The portal is now active, and the deadline for all entries is Friday, June 30, 2017.

“These prestigious awards acknowledge the valuable contributions credit unions make each year in the communities they serve through outreach, services and financial education,” said CCUF President Lauren Whaley. “The Carolinas Foundation is honored to promote their recognition and join in the celebration.”

First-place winners from the state-level program will be forwarded for national judging through the Credit Union National Association (CUNA). The award ceremony for state-level winners will take place during the Carolinas Credit Union League’s Carolinas Credit Union Connect event February 1-2, 2018 in Charlotte, NC. Then national winners will be honored at the 2018 CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference in Washington, DC February 25 – March 1.

Please direct any questions about these state-level awards programs to Lauren Whaley at or 919-600-8219.

About the CUNA Awards

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award is given to a credit union or chapter/multiple credit union group for its social responsibility projects within the community. The award is given for external activities that help other people or strengthen the structure of a community. Examples include raising funds for charity, educational activities, or community involvement projects, such as a volunteer fair, building low-income housing, or loaning employees a few hours a week to work in hospitals, retirement homes, schools, and the like.

The Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Award is given to a credit union for practical application of credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union. It is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership, including programs or policies that demonstrate their commitment to the practical application of the "People-Helping-People" philosophy. Practical examples include: provisions for the small saver or borrower; member programs for groups that are often economically challenged; internal programs or services that help to differentiate the credit union from other financial services' providers; programs that do an extraordinary job of encouraging thrift and provide a source of unbiased money management and consumer information, especially if difficult or impossible to obtain elsewhere; and evidence of an exceptional degree of service to members.

The Desjardins Financial Education Awards recognize leadership within credit unions on behalf of financial literacy for all ages. The awards consider all activities supporting personal finance education of members and non-members, including face-to-face teaching using proprietary materials and curricula, such as the NEFE High School Financial Planning Program® (HSFPP), and financial literacy leadership.


Related News

Carolinas Foundation Awards Gala showcases talent, heart of our industry (2/9/17)

Carolinas Foundation announces 2016 state-level CUNA award winners (9/22/16)

Contact Us


1000 Saint Albans Drive
Suite 325
Raleigh, NC 27609

800-822-8859 Phone
919-573-0474 Fax


7440 Broad River Road
Irmo, SC 29063

PO Box 1787
Columbia, SC 29202

800-822-8859 Phone
803-732-4268 Fax