Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Sitewide Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

North Piedmont Chapter of CUs Meeting

Foothills Chapter of CUs Meeting

Teller Workshop

Tarheel Chapter of CUs Meeting

Small Credit Union Roundtable

CCUL Headlines: CU Highlights

Greater Abbeville FCU awards $1,200 in grants to local teachers

Friday, August 15, 2014   (0 Comments)
Share |

2014 GAFCU Teacher Grant recipients

ABBEVILLE, SC (8/15/14) — Greater Abbeville Federal Credit Union would like to congratulate the winners of its Second Annual GAFCU Teacher Grant. One winner was selected from each school in Abbeville County, for a total of $1,200 in grants.

The winners of the $100 grants were announced at the District “Welcome Back” Ceremony in early August, as well as the single grand prize winner for the $500 grant. The 2014 Teacher Grant recipients include:

  • Abbeville High School – Joyce Bush
  • Wright Middle School – George Jordan
  • Westwood Elementary – Ramey Crawford
  • Long Cane Primary – Patricia Davis
  • Dixie High School – Heyni Barrios
  • Cherokee Trail Elementary – Nora Gail Johnson
  • John C Calhoun Elementary – Marty Cann
  • Abbeville Career Center – Pamela Varnish (Grand Prize Winner, $500)

“Our mission is to provide financial hope to Abbeville County,” said Faye Crocker, GAFCU CEO. “We are very pleased to extend this opportunity to help our teachers who spend a lot of their own money in preparing the next generation of Abbeville County residents.”

Teachers from Abbeville County schools applied for the grant by writing a brief paragraph describing how they would spend the extra $100 in their classrooms in order to benefit students. Application submissions ranged from supplying new books for the classroom to equipment for a hospitality class at the career center.